MAC Division Invites Nominations for New Teaching Award

Nomination Deadline: April 20, 2022

The <u>MAC Division</u> is accepting self-nominations for its new "Félix F. Gutiérrez and Clint C. Wilson II MAC Award for Teaching Excellence and Innovation." MAC's new award to recognize extraordinary teachers among its members was proposed by Paula Poindexter, Past MAC Head and Past AEJMC President, and unanimously approved by the MAC E-Board in 2021 under the leadership of then-MAC Head Melody Fisher. The inaugural Gutiérrez-Wilson Teaching Award, which includes a \$500 check and specially designed award, will be presented at the 2022 AEJMC Annual Conference in Detroit.

In proposing the new teaching award, Poindexter said it honors long-time MAC members Dr. Félix F. Gutiérrez, University of Southern California Professor of Journalism Emeritus, and Dr. Clint C. Wilson II, Emeritus Professor of Journalism and Communication, Culture and Media Studies, Howard University School of Communications, and their contributions to Journalism and Mass Communication education, the MAC Division, and AEJMC. Gutiérrez and Wilson are the 2011 and 2013 recipients of the Lionel C. Barrow Jr. Award for Distinguished Achievement in Diversity Research and co-authors of *Minorities and the Media*, the first textbook to address race and ethnicity in journalism and communication.

Teaching Award Eligibility. To be eligible for the Gutiérrez-Wilson MAC Award for Teaching Excellence and Innovation, nominees must teach full-time and have been active in the MAC Division for a minimum of three years. (Examples of active MAC membership include holding a MAC Division office, reviewing conference papers and/or grant proposals, serving on committees, participating on MAC panels, serving as MAC mentors, attending annual MAC Division business meetings, etc.)

Nomination Deadline. The nomination package and supporting letters are due April 20, 2022.

Nomination Package. Components include a cover page, the self-nomination letter, an optional appendix, and a syllabus.

Cover Page. The nomination cover page must include the following information: (a) Nominee's name, title, department/unit, university, email address, mobile phone number, link to faculty page, and short description of active membership in MAC; (b) Name and email address of department/unit chair or faculty colleague writing supporting letter; (c) Name and email address of former student writing supporting letter.

Self-Nomination Letter. The self-nomination letter should be doubled spaced with 12-point type and not exceed 1,250 words which is equivalent to five double-spaced pages. The letter should (a) speak to the award's purpose of teaching excellence and innovation; (b) provide reason(s) the nominee is deserving of the award; (c) describe one course the nominee teaches that embodies teaching excellence and innovation; (d) describe overall teaching experience and perspective.

Optional Appendix. The appendix, which will not count against the word count of the self-nomination letter, can be used to present evidence and examples of teaching excellence and innovation.

Syllabus. The syllabus, which should be placed at the end of the nomination package, should be for the course referenced in the self-nomination letter.

Order of Nomination Package Components. The four components of the Nomination Package should be saved as a PDF file in the following order: Cover Page, Self-Nomination Letter, Optional Appendix, Syllabus. Please label the file "MAC 2022 Teaching Award Nomination for ______" with nominee's name filled in, and email to <u>paula.poindexter@austin.utexas.edu</u> by the April 20, 2022 deadline. In the email subject line, please include "Nomination for Gutiérrez-Wilson MAC Teaching Award."

Supporting Letter from Department/Unit Chair or Faculty Colleague. The supporting letter from a department/unit chair or faculty colleague should explain why the nominee deserves to be the recipient of this award that recognizes teaching excellence and innovation. The supporting letter should be emailed to <u>paula.poindexter@austin.utexas.edu</u> by the April 20, 2022 deadline. "Supporting Letter for Gutiérrez-Wilson MAC Teaching Award Nominee" should be included in the email's subject line.

Supporting Letter from Former Student. This supporting letter should include the course number and title as well as the semester and year that the student was enrolled in the nominee's course. The former student should explain with specificity both why the nominee's teaching epitomizes excellence and innovation and the impact that it may have had on students in the class. The former student's supporting letter should be emailed to paula.poindexter@austin.utexas.edu by the April 20, 2022 deadline. "Supporting Letter for Gutiérrez-Wilson MAC Teaching Award Nominee" should be included in the email's subject line.

For More Information. Please email Committee Chair Paula Poindexter at <u>paula.poindexter@austin.utexas.edu</u> or contact other members of the Gutiérrez-Wilson MAC Award for Teaching Excellence and Innovation Committee:

Bey-Ling Sha, California State University, Fullerton <u>bsha@fullerton.edu</u>

Kenneth Campbell, University of South Carolina KENCAMP@mailbox.sc.edu

Laura Castañeda, University of Southern California lcastane@usc.edu

Federico Subervi, Honorary Associate/Fellow of the Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian Studies Program at the University of Wisconsin-Madison <u>subervif@gmail.com</u>

Christina Jimenez Najera, University of Tennessee at Knoxville cnajera@utk.edu

Ilia Rodríguez, University of New Mexico ilia@unm.edu

MAC Division Teaching Chair: Calvin Hall, North Carolina Central University calvin.hall@nccu.edu

Committee Chair: Paula M. Poindexter, University of Texas at Austin paula.poindexter@austin.utexas.edu

MAC Head and Committee Adviser: Sydney Dillard, DePaul University sdillar2@depaul.edu