AEJMC Convention 2012: Chair's Note...

Curtis Lawrence
Curtis Lawrence

What great timing! In my first conference as the chair of the Commission on the Status of Minorities (CSM), we’re meeting in my hometown. I hope most of you will be able to join us in Chicago this August for this historic meeting as AEJMC celebrates 100 years. In addition, CSM will be making sure it’s part of the AEJMC story – sharing its role in the struggle for inclusion and equality in academia and in the journalism profession.

Honoring one of our own
One of the highlights of this year was participating in the panel to choose the recipient of the 2012 Lionel C. Barrow Jr. Award for Distinguished Achievement in Diversity Research and Education. I was honored to serve on the selection committee with Immediate Past CSM Chair Linda Florence Callahan, CSM Vice-Chair Sharon Stringer, Minorities and Communications Chair Petra Guerra and CSM members Sharon Bramlett-Solomon and Calvin Hall.

Our 2011 recipient, Felix Gutierrez, professor of journalism, communication and American studies & ethnicity at the University of Southern California, had set the bar high. After careful review, our committee selected Federico Subervi, full professor and director of the Center for the Study of Latino Media & Markets at the School of Journalism and Mass Communication, Texas State University, San Marcos. We were beyond impressed with his scholarly work on Latinos and media as well as with his continued efforts to grow, develop and sustain CSM and MAC. The fact that both groups are well-represented within AEJMC is testament to Subervi’s efforts. We are especially proud to claim him as a CSM member. Please plan on attending the AEJMC Business Meeting at 10 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 11 to support Subervi as he receives his award. That said, there are many more qualified prospective candidates who have worked in the tradition of Dr. Barrow and who deserve recognition for their efforts. One of our goals in the coming years will be to increase awareness about the Barrow Award and to encourage more nominations.

CSM Panel
Another important event to put on your AEJMC conference calendar is the CSM Panel: “Teaching Race, Gender and Media; What’s New, What’s Needed.” The panel will be moderated by our own Petra Guerra and will include CSM member Sharon Bramlett-Solomon, Arizona State University; Lisa Brock, Kalamazoo College; Janice Castro, Northwestern University and Stan West, Columbia College Chicago. The panelists will address what progress has been made in this important field of study and discuss what challenges await in the future. The panel will held at from 12:15 - 1:30 p.m. on Saturday, August 11.

In addition, please note other panels in which CSM members are participating and make every effort to support them with your attendance. A note of thanks Lastly, I’d like to thank my CSM fellow officers for their work during the past year. Vice-Chair Sharon Stringer, Secretary George Daniels, Newsletter Editor Masudul Biswas and Assistant Newsletter Editor Kyle Huckins also deserve a round of applause. Additional thanks goes to George Daniels for getting our CSM listserv up and running. Now members can connect at AEJMC-CSM@LISTSERV.UA.EDU

I look forward to seeing everyone in Chicago!

Back to Top